It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Bullshit!

There! I’ve said it. I don’t think this is the most wonderful time of the year. Why? Frankly, the entire “it’s the most wonderful time of the year” motif seems forced. Christmas decorations were out before Halloween. Where the hell did Thanksgiving go? Chanukah was a blip for me (being that it was on Thanksgiving).

All the holiday “cheer”. Give me a break. For those of us that have no family living nearby, this is a difficult time of the year. Facebook makes it worse. Every Tom, Dick and Jane posting pictures of their family get-togethers and their tree trimming. There is nothing like hearing all about the family Thanksgiving when you don’t have anywhere to go. Is it any wonder so many people are depressed at this time of the year?

I’m luckier than most single people without family nearby because I have a few friends that would never let me be alone, and believe me, that really helps and I am more than eternally grateful. Plus my dad was here this year for Thanksgiving and stayed for 3 weeks. That was awesome.

Not to mention the Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). From an article in Mother Earth Living newsletter “When the weather gets cold and the days grow short, half a million people around the world fall into a depression called Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). “SAD can be severely debilitating; it adversely affects the sufferer’s ability to work and socialize,” says Stephen Ilardi, author of The Depression Cure: The Six Step Program to Beat Depression Without Drugs. Subsyndromal Seasonal Affective Disorder (SSAD), a less-severe version, makes many more people sad and sluggish, with less mental clarity and less restful sleep, Ilardi says. (Read more: http://www.motherearthliving.com/health-and-wellness/beat-seasonal-affective-disorder-sad-with-light-therapy.aspx#ixzz2n0I6B0Il)

I have dealt with SAD all of my life.  On days when the sun won’t come out and/or you’re snowed in, it’s hell on earth. And I cope better than most. I have a support system. I have projects to keep me busy and I have self-care skills that are excellent (a new development in my now half-century life thank goodness!). I understand the importance of getting fresh air and limited sunshine even when it’s frigid outside. It’s still hard. Luckily here in Northern Virginia, Spring will be here soon enough. Today I spent an hour on Pinterest looking at pictures of lilacs. 

This may be anecdotal but it seems to me a number of people lose their jobs at this time of year. I know that my business drops off this time of year and makes things financially more insecure.

Last but not least for me (and only me), my birthday is right after New Year’s and while I am happier at 50+ than I have ever been in my life, I get the birthday blues.  Ideas for a way to make it brighter are welcome.

Happy holidays y’all.

4 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Pingback: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year | Suz's Mind

  2. I have ssad and then there is the past year….
    You are right in your assessments of the topics you discuss here.
    Most layoffs and eliminations do occur this time of year, because there is preparation for the next years operating budgets, and that’s no anecdote.
    I have a friend who is severely affected each year, and she manages to get by because of specialized lighting in her home.
    You get by on your Chuzpah?
    Sorry for the spelling.

Leave a Reply

