I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie

Well, now that I typed that Sir Mix-A-Lot’s more famous phrase is running through my head 🙂

But it’s true. I LIKE big fat books. I read them on Kindle now but it’s not unusual for me to read books that are 600 or 700 or 1000 pages each. And by the way, I got the “slogan” from a picture of a button from the Goodwill Librarian.

It’s funny how I don’t mind these tomes but in my book club, the minute you say that a book you read was great, someone wants to know how long it was. When you tell them “oh, about 670 pages,” the response is along the lines of “I don’t want to read that”. So many of the people in my book club are retired and you’d think at least they’d have more time to read a book like that but nope, they have no interest.

Of course, studies are showing that people don’t read at all.  According to the Pew Research Center “[O]verall, 76% of adults read a book in some format over the previous 12 months. The typical American adult read or listened to 5 books in the past year, and the average for all adults was 12 books. Neither the mean nor median number of books read has changed significantly over the past few years.”  This means though that approximately 1 in every 4 Americans hasn’t read a book in the last year and that is, to me, such a shame.

Books are my friends. They take me places and open my mind up to new thoughts and ideas.  

books  quotebenefits of books

Those non-readers are missing out on some spectacular reading in my view.

Me? As soon as I get home I’m going back to Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch. 775 pages and worth every single word.

beauty of reading

One thought on “I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie

  1. These days I read everything on my Kindle. I never pay attention about how many pages it is. Sometimes I am disappointed to find out that a story I like is very short.

Leave a Reply

