Comfort

So this weekend is Valentines Day weekend and I’m dreading it. Alone again, naturally as the song says. So my plan is to find comfort — in soup.

I’ve been making soups a lot lately. Goes together well with the breads I have been baking.

Last week I made a delicious red lentil soup from a recipe I found on Pinterest. The recipe was from the New York Times and was 1) easy 2) had everything in the house, no shopping! 3) delicious, as I already said. It also was very inexpensive which is a plus.  Here’s the recipe. I used the chili powder and chicken stock and only 2 tablespoons of oil. Please don’t use bottled lemon juice or jarred garlic. This recipe has so few ingredients, let them all be good and fresh.

   http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/09/dining/091arex.html?_r=0

This weekend I will be making my go-to winter squash soup. This recipe is from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris book. Unbelievably easy and so very tasty. Mostly it’s a big bowl of comfort. Smooth and warming. Soothes the insides. Gives me the warm fuzzies I will be needing this weekend. I confess I do not use the heavy cream most of the time and often, I don’t add the cream/milk at all until just before serving. That way I can actually freeze it for later. Sometimes I have been known to roast the squash first for a deeper flavor as well. Either way, this is a really easy recipe and you can get a lot of mileage from it at parties as well.  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/winter-squash-soup-recipe.html

As Jacques Pepin says “happy cooking”.

Leave a Reply

