Climbing the Mountain Called My Health

I could ramble on and on about my health journey but I won’t bore you. Just suffice it to say that I had years filled with free-falling accidents that left me all but broken (how many people do YOU know that have had formaldehyde poisoning??). I keep coming up swinging. It’s been hills and valleys for me all along.

So now, age 53, I did my first Fitathalon Challenge in Northern Virginia this past weekend. It was very challenging. I had to skip 4 obstacles because I was frankly terrified of the heights and I didn’t have faith in my upper body strength to accomplish them. I did however, finish the 5k and the other obstacles. I am blessed to have had friends there on the course supporting and encouraging me through. Half-way through I had lost all steam but somehow I continued.

Then, I came home to continue the killer headache I’d had all week and woke up Sunday morning to what turned out to be viral gastroenteritis (or what most people call “stomach flu”). Like I said, hills and valleys.

I now have a chiropractor, a massage therapist, a gyno, an internist, a health coach and athletic trainers. The valleys are getting much more sparse (thanks to whatever energy source/diety may be listening and part of that very good thing). It takes a village to get me up the mountain.

So when I got hit with this thing (bug) I thought “really?”. I went to the bank today and it nearly wiped me out! I thought “this is crazy!”.

So I’m trying to just accept that my body wants to rest — a hard thing for this Type A personality — and that I really did good this past Saturday. Yea me!!

 

That's me on the far left. I got a medal. I've never had a medal before!

That’s me on the far left. I got a medal. I’ve never had a medal before!

Yeah, that's me in the black doing squats

Yeah, that’s me in the black doing squats

Fitathalon Challenge 2014

Pushups!

 

 

Leave a Reply

