Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Some of my friends have had the “luck” of listening to me go on and on about the new dietary detox I’ve started and now, you lucky readers, will get to follow along. First let me say right off the bat that this is being monitored medically and is not some random detox I picked up off the internet and I do not recommend doing this on your own without a doctor, nutritionist or some other medical professional.

So, as I’ve posted previously, I’ve been making huge changes in my eating habits as well as physical habits (moving a lot more) over the past year or so. I’ve been doing it in baby steps and that’s what I needed. Now, however, I am jumping off the high dive into the deep end. I can’t say I would have been ready without the last year as a preparation stage however.

Starting the middle of last week, I  started taking numerous nutraceuticals. Some of them taste horrible. Others are palatable. Starting the end of the week I will be giving up all grains, dairy (including eggs), all nuts and seeds, all added sugars (including maple syrup and honey), all alcohol and tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant and peppers (nightshade plants), pineapple, mango and a few other fruits, and dried fruits  for four weeks. This will be difficult but I think the hardest will be breakfast, which has always been the most difficult meal for me. Also no coffee or tea of any kind. Without dairy (yogurt) and nuts (peanut or cashew butter), I will be re-thinking breakfast as a lunch meal. I gave up caffeine months ago so what I will miss most about my morning coffee is the warmth and the taste.

I expect to be a little cranky.

I will be blogging about it as much for my need to journal about the journey as anything else.

I also am giving serious thought to those that are in my life and how they interact in that life. I know that it’s the thing to call everyone “friend” but I’m thinking that buck stops now. Are they friends or are they merely acquaintances? This is a reorganization of WHO I offer my precious time to. Is that time and caring reciprocated?  Are they engaged and engaging? Do they share? Or are they distant and perhaps even secretive? Do they leave the impression that being a friend is too much work?

We are all busy in this everyday life we all lead. I run a business. I work long hours, yet I find the time to tell those I am closest with “hi” on a regular basis. It may be by text or email instead of a call but I take the time. I figure that anyone that isn’t willing to reciprocate is an acquaintance and not a friend.

I saw this on Buddhist Boot Camp last night and that started the ball rolling. “Give without expecting anything in return (not even a thank you). That is Unconditional Kindness… everything else is ego” —Timber Hawkeye. I agree that kindness is important. Friendship is a relationship of give and take. 

I also saw this on Buddhist Boot Camp FB  page last night and immediately wanted to write about it. “Can you imagine loving someone unconditionally enough to say this to them (or even to yourself?)

“I’ll give you countless amounts of outright acceptance, if you want it. I will give you encouragement to choose the path that you want, if you need it. You can speak of anger and doubts, your fears and freak outs, and I’ll hold it. You can share your so-called shame filled accounts of times in your life, and I won’t judge it; and there are no strings attached to it…

You owe me nothing for giving the love that I give. You owe me nothing for caring the way that I have. I give you thanks for receiving it, it’s my privilege, and you owe me nothing in return.

You can ask for space for yourself, and only yourself, and I’ll grant it. You can ask for freedom as well, or time to travel, and you’ll have it. You can ask to live by yourself or love someone else and I’ll support it. You can ask for anything you want, anything at all, and I’ll understand it; and there are no strings attached to it.

I bet you’re wondering when the next payback shoe will eventually drop. I bet you’re wondering when my conditional police will force you to cough up. I bet you wonder how far you have now danced you way back into debt. This is the only kind of love, as I understand it, that there really is.

You can express your deepest of truths even if it means I’ll lose you, and I’ll hear it. You can fall into the abyss on your way to your bliss, I’ll empathize with. You can say that you have to skip town to chase your passion, and I’ll hear it. You can even hit rock bottom, have a mid-life crisis, and I’ll hold it; and there are no strings attached to it.

You owe me nothing for giving the love that I give. You owe me nothing for caring the way that I have. I give you thanks for receiving it, it’s my privilege, and you owe me nothing in return” —Alanis Morissette

This is the only kind of love, as I understand it, that there really is. Namaste.”

I wholeheartedly agree. Where I swerve is that I realize that after I love and expect nothing in return and in fact, get nothing in return, I have the right and the obligation to let go. Because I love myself and I need to be surrounded by people that in fact, DO love in return, and that are capable of returning that love in some form and fashion.

So I have my nutritional detox starting (and more on that as it unfolds) and I have my emotional detox starting (and more on that as it unfolds).

Enjoy this beautiful day. And embrace the Ch-ch-ch-changes in your lives (thanks to David Bowie).

heart

One thought on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Leave a Reply

