Detox — At the Starting Gate and the Trouble with Eating Out

I took all the nutroceuticals this week and now starting tonight, I will start the elimination. I think that at home I’ll do ok and even at a restaurant as long as I can eat some protein and a veg. But that said, I had a situation today at lunch that could have been a disaster if I had already started the elimination.

I went to a luncheon. I paid for the luncheon. As usual I enjoyed the heck out of the networking and the guest speaker (Catherine Merrill-Williams, CEO and Publisher of Washingtonian Magazine). I enjoyed the location and usually enjoy the lunch. In fact, I did enjoy the lunch.

If I had started the elimination this morning however, I would have paid a pretty steep price for the luncheon and been starving afterwards. We had a salad with grilled chicken, black beans, tomatoes, avocado, corn and tortilla strips. Came with a bread side and a parfait with vanilla pudding and a few berries on top.

On the first four weeks of the elimination, I have to skip the beans, tomatoes, corn, tortilla strips, the bread (and the butter), and the vanilla pudding. Add that I don’t like avocado and gave it to a friend, I would have been left with a small salad and some grilled chicken and water. OY!! Frustration city.

This is going to take some getting used to!!

First thing I think I have to seriously consider carrying an emergency “kit” of some carrots and fruit with me at all times (since I can’t rely on nut energy bars either during the elimination).

Let the “race” begin!

Leave a Reply

