The Tony’s

I’m sure you’re all sick and tired of me posting about my new detox so today I’m posting about The Tony’s and my love of Broadway.

I went to my first Broadway performance when I was maybe 13 or 14 years old. I went to see Grease. It was with Andrienne Barbeau and Barry Bostwick. I think it had Stockard Channing in it as well. It was awesome and I’ve never warmed up to the movie version.

Then I got to see Pippin. It was with Ben Vereen, Irene Ryan (Grandma on the Beverly Hillbillies) and John Rubenstein (better known now for his roles on Numbers and Ally McBeal). This show blew me away and I still have a CD of the original cast music. How thrilling that John Rubenstein, who won a Tony for his roll of Pippin in the 70s is playing a limited engagement this month in the role of Charles! I’ve since watched Patina Miller, who was in the Ben Vereen role, on PBS and love her voice. I’m sorry I didn’t see her before she left the cast.

Anyhow, I digress. The Tony’s last night were FABULOUS!! Hugh Jackman was stupendous. I loved, LOVED seeing Carole King perform and Neil Patrick Harris — WOW!!

I hope I get to see Harris perform in Hedwig and the Angry Inch. I hope to see Beautiful about Carole King. I would love to see Aladdin. I would love to see Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill with Audra McDonald (what a voice!).  After Midnight looked wonderful also.

So many shows, so little time. I doubt I’ll get to The Great White Way to see all of those shows but I really hope they come to DC.

I leave you with a picture of Neil Patrick Harris in Hedwig and the Angry Inch, for which he won a Tony last night.

Hedwig

Leave a Reply

