Spaghetti for the Grain Free Belly

I’ve spent weeks looking for recipes that I can springboard off but being gluten, grain (including quinoa and buckwheat), dairy, nightshade, egg and seed and nut free has made it really tough.

So I’ve had to get creative!!

Thank God I can cook!!!

So here’s  my first recipe. It’s for spaghetti. I LOVE spaghetti. A few times a week. For breakfast, lunch and dinner. And as snacks. Hot or cold.

Now that I’m totally grain free, no spaghetti for me. Until this.

I made spaghetti with spaghetti squash. It was easy and tasty.

Here’s my recipe, which can be doubled and tripled and my notes for swaps and alternate recipes.

A small spaghetti squash that was cooked in the microwave, then shredded.

Some ground beef (although I have an idea for ground lamb that will be good too). Probably 1/2 pound.

Two large garlic cloves minced

Generous amount of well-rinsed capers, 2 generous teaspoons

Generous amount of good olives pitted, 6? 8? I like all olives but Kalamata are always a good choice and you can get them in the store already pitted.

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil, 1 to 3 teaspoons

Lemon juice, 1/2 a lemon. Don’t use that fake stuff. You can put the other half lemon in water. I save the squeezed lemon rind and use it to clean the sink after dinner. Smells good and makes it shine.

Cook meat and remove from pan and set aside.

Heat olive oil in pan and add minced garlic to soften but do not let burn. This is to make the sauce for the “spaghetti” so be a little generous.

Add the meat back and add the capers, lemon juice and the spaghetti squash. Season with salt and pepper to taste and add more olive oil if necessary so it’s not dry.

For ground lamb instead of beef I was thinking allspice and cinnamon.

I also thought that using chicken or no meat at all, instead of olive oil and the whole Mediterranean thing, add coconut milk and cream and curry powder. You could add lamb to this as well.

Of course, if you can or want to, feel free to add sauteed onion or make tomato sauce. I’m currently tomato, peppers and eggplant free also so I came up with this to be something like an Aglio e Olio with some protein.

It’s not spaghetti but it was really good. I ate leftovers for lunch 🙂

Yes, this makes 2 servings.

Fruit for dessert.

One thought on “Spaghetti for the Grain Free Belly

Leave a Reply

