Mashed Falafel

So I’m doing this vegan thing, which for me is just fruit, veg and beans. Not a lot of room to wiggle. Yesterday (Sunday) I worked until 3 p.m. and came home famished.

I had found a recipe for baked falafel and thought, if I leave out the egg and just fry them in a non-stock skillet….

So I made my own version. 1 can chickpeas drained and rinsed and coarsely chopped

Some red or sweet white onion to taste (although I’m pretty generous), chopped, fine but not too fine.

2 cloves garlic minced.

Salt and pepper to taste

Cumin to taste, 1/4 tsp?

Mint — I grow this so I put it in with abandon but cilantro or parsley would be good also.

A little water, lemon juice and olive oil to just hold it together.

Mix together.

Here’s where it got interesting. I put olive oil in a non-stick pan.

I made small patties.

BUT, the olive oil made the patties start to come apart.

Next time less oil and less liquid in the patties.

The flavor profile however was OUTSTANDING and even raw this stuff was great.

I guess what I wound up eating could be called mashed falafel. It was delicious. I ate the entire can’s worth and looked for more..

Leave a Reply

