Oscar’s Red Carpet

I admit that I love watching what everyone wears as much as the next woman. I have adored looking through fashion magazines since I was 11 or 12 years old and I visited the stationery store in my neighborhood in August for the September/Fall issue of Seventeen magazine on a daily basis. Then I lovingly turned each page and wrote down everything that I just had to have (not that I did in fact get those things mind you).

When watching the Oscars, or any red carpet event, you are watching a style of dressing that one rarely gets to do on a regular basis, if at all in one’s lifetime. Yet to see all the elegance is breathtaking.

On Facebook I notice a lot of very nasty and negative comments about various celebrity choices. They were getting too personal (that actress should never wear….) and I don’t like that tearing down of a person. I’m sure we have all made bad choices in our clothing at one time or another.

What I love though is just looking at the dresses and tuxes and noting who the designer is. You may not like the way a particular actress is wearing a dress but the dress itself may be divine.

This year I thought a number of dresses were divine and so were many of the tuxes.

Here are some of my favorite picks:

Black Christian Siriano dress (worn by Kelly Ripa)

Black and white Rosetta Getty (worn by Patricia Arquette, congrats on her Oscar win. She was fantastic in Boyhood)

Marc Bouwer gown (worn by Robin Roberts). Loved the color of this dress. Is it burgundy? Fabulous.

I liked the tux by Ralph Lauren (worn by Michael Keaton) and loved the one by Prada (worn by Common). I didn’t much care for all the navy and blue tuxes but you have to give credit for trying to do some color instead of basic black. For anyone interested, Jared Leto’s baby blue tux was a custom Givenchy and was a little too much for my taste but you’ve got to give him credit for pulling it off so well.

Alberta Ferretti gown (worn by Laura Dern). Also liked the color. What is that called? Platinum?

Pale pink Zac Posen gown (worn by Viola Davis). I thought it was classic.

Black Yves St. Laurent dress (worn by Margot Robbie).

Silver Zuhair Murad gown (worn by Anna Farris).

Black and gold Marchessa gown (worn by Rita Ora). Also very classic.

Chartreuse Elie Saab gown (worn by Emma Stone). Such an unusual color but it is stunning.

Pink Miu Miu (worn by Kerry Washington). The detail on the peplum is what makes this dress.

Black and white Tom Ford (worn by Reese Witherspoon). Very simple. It’s what makes this gown special.

I liked the Valentino dress (worn by pregnant Kiera Knightley). If you have to be pregnant then this Valentino could be the one to wear.

The red (RED!!!) Givenchy Haute Couteur  (worn by Rosamund Pike). This dress is stunning. I want this dress. The lace, the scalloped bodice. Love, love, love!

Another love! was the Calvin Klein Collection white dress (worn by Lupita Nyong’o). This is another stunning dress. I couldn’t pull it off but by God, I’d sure like to try!

A third dress that I adore is the baby blue Tadashi Shoji (worn by Octavia Spencer). The shirring, the pleats and the other detail are just lovely. This looks like a dress us mere mortals could wear to an evening wedding, although dancing in it would be difficult with the train.

By the way, I didn’t like the Atelier Versace dress (worn by Jennifer Aniston) at all. I probably would have liked it if it had a lining so that the legs were not showing as they were. It just doesn’t look finished to me, almost like an undergarment.  I suppose the pale skin tones were part of the issue. How does one make a color I wear almost exclusively in my undergarments, usually called “nude”, look attractive? I don’t really know the answer to that.

A few of the other dresses, some of which were labeled as “best” among the professional critics, looked like pajamas to me. In fact, a number of the ones I particular disliked and thought they looked like pajamas or undergarments were Atelier Versace. A dress that perplexed me was a Givenchy that looked like a sparkly black bra with a royal blue over-piece (worn by Jessica Chastain). It made no sense to me whatsoever.

As you can see, I liked a lot of the fashion worn on the red carpet.  My choices were not based upon the people wearing them although I suppose how an outfit fits a person could make a huge difference. Yet, I try to think of the dress on a mannequin and make my decisions based on that. Overall, I think the red carpet this year did not disappoint. For pictures that include the designer information see Red Carpet Photos.

Leave a Reply

