My love affair with Facebook is over

As you know, because I’ve said it often enough, I have mixed feelings about Facebook. It sucks up a lot of time, and time just seems to whittle away while I could be working, doing laundry, watching television, reading, or any other number of things that I just don’t do. I even find myself logging in on my phone while I am doing other things. I call that OCD. I call that obsessive for certain.

So a few weeks ago, I took a page out of my friend Byron’s book; I deleted my facebook app from my phone which meant using Facebook from my computer at the office (when I have time which isn’t that often) or when I use my phone and use the browser (which I don’t do that often either and when I do there’s that time suck).

Here’s what I have found.

I don’t really miss it. When I haven’t looked Facebook for a bit and then check on it, I see the same stuff that was posted the day before and the day before that and the day before that and the day before that and the day….

While I still want to Facebook, mostly because I don’t know what to do with myself sometimes and I can’t focus, when I do Facebook I am bored. There is very little there that catches my attention. Apparently I Facebook when I’m bored and it bores me.

This has been a good time for me to do other things and reconnect with myself and non-electric methods of entertainment (I don’t include TV in this).

So what have I done in the last few weeks? I have been catching up on some TV and I’ve watched a movie or two. I’ve really caught up on my reading and I’ve read 3 books in the last month. This hasn’t been that hard in spite of thefact that I’ve also been working 10 to 14 hour days. It’s like I didn’t even realize what a time suck Facebook really is even as I would say it was a time suck. I have time to read more!

I would say that my love affair with Facebook is over. Now to determine what else has been sucking time out of my life. Bejeweled Blitz perhaps or Cookie Jam? Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

