The new TV season

I DVR’d the pilots for many of the new TV shows this Fall because I wanted to see if I would like them. A few of the shows I have determined are pretty good and I will keep watching them. A few of the shows I really don’t care for. Then there are the shows I’m still watching because the jury is out and I can’t make up my mind just yet.

Here is my take on the Fall TV season.

Must watch television for now is only one show out of all of the shows that I have previewed thus far. That award belongs to The Blindspot. The show is engaging.

There are few shows for which the jury is still out. I have watched two episodes of both Rosewood and The Player. Frankly I just can’t make up my mind.

Morris Chestnut is delightful as Rosie on Rosewood. Unless the show totally falls apart in the next episode or two I will keep watching.

The Player is different. It has the makings of a good show but I just can’t wrap my head around why I like it and for that reason it may fall by the wayside. I only have so many hours a week to watch TV and unless a show really grabs me I tend to let it slide.

Then there are the comedies.

Grandfathered is almost too cute. I’m going to give it one or two more episodes because well, John Stamos.

The Grinder has two redeeming qualities, those being Rob Lowe and Fred Savage all grown up. As a lawyer what I don’t like about comedies like this is that even the judge in the pilot episode thinks it’s ok for the Rob Lowe character to give the closing argument in the case over the objection of opposing counsel (because Rob Lowe is not a lawyer). I know that it’s fiction but sometimes stuff like this is just too ridiculous for words. I’ll give it another episode because well, Rob Lowe and Fred Savage.

Life in Pieces is the media darling this year. Tom Hanks’s son is even in it. So is Josh Brolin. It has a big ensemble cast. I’ve watched two episodes and it is just not grabbing me. I’m only giving it a third try because all the critics say it’s the best show on television. Lol

Ok back to dramas. I really wanted to like The Bastard Executioner. I have watched three very long episodes and I just don’t particularly care for it enough to keep watching. Perhaps on another rainy afternoon I will watch it on demand but it is no longer going to be in rotation.

The Minority Report is based upon the movie by the same name and takes place a few years later. It’s another show that I wanted to watch. I even rewatched the Minority Report to make sure that I understood what the show was supposed to be about. I’ve watched a few episodes of this now and unless it does something really great it will fall out of rotation.

I’m sure there are a few shows that I am missing but there’s only one more then I’m going to discuss right now and that is Best Time Ever with Neil Patrick Harris. This show is so much fun. It is a modern day version of an old time variety show and I really enjoy the heck out of it. It has music. It has dancing. It has comedy. It has audience participation. It has guest stars. In 3 weeks it had Reese Witherspoon, Alec Baldwin, and Tyler Perry acting as guest announcers. It had Sister Sledge, Cee Lo Green, Bonnie Tyler, and has Nicole Scherzinger as it his (NPH) sidekick every week. I honestly can say I look forward to this show every week.

Note that many of these shows have a lot of commercials. Except for the Bastard Executioner all of them are on the major networks. So I highly recommend watching on DVR. I don’t even recommend on demand since most of the major networks do not allow you to fast forward through commercials.

Happy watching. I will probably have another post about the new Fall season in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

