That Pesky War on Christmas and Christians

I posted this on Facebook this morning:

What? No blue,silver, and white cups at Starbucks? There’s a war against Judaism! Folks it’s not even Thanksgiving. Can we please eat the bird before you start this “discrimination “against Christians and Christmas stuff yet?

To me, the non-Christian, red cups in November and December definitely signify Christmas. Lest we forget that Starbucks is a corporation. It sells things. Malls sell things. Is that what Christmas is to you? Red cups?

We are starting this crap earlier and earlier. I started seeing the DISCRIMINATION!! posts before Halloween. Christmas is in full bloom at stores everywhere including my grocery store. I don’t care about that much, although since Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays, I’d like the pleasure of enjoying it without Christmas barging in.

I know there are some that would say I feel this way because I’m a Jew and not a Christian and to that I’d say “Damn skippy!”. (Although Thanksgiving is definitely one of my very favorite holidays so I really, really would like the opportunity to enjoy it unmolested by Christmas.)

I celebrate Christmas like most “non-religious” Jews. I enjoy the carols and the light displays and being invited to friends’ homes for dinners. My paternal grandmother wasn’t Jewish and we celebrated Christmas with her and as a child I loved the gifts and what I now call the “Thanksgiving II” mountain of food. But make no mistake about it. It’s not my holiday. When Christmas was celebrated from the day after Thanksgiving until December 25th (or by some friends until early January), it was okay.

But now, let’s be honest, Christmas is starting earlier and earlier. This has NOTHING to do with Christmas. It has EVERYTHING to do with retailers getting $$$$$. The problem is that Christians are confusing the two.

I don’t want to preach to Christians about how to be Christians but from my vantage point, it seems that the message has been lost. When Christians start complaining that Starbucks is against Christians and Jesus because their “holiday” cups are plain red cups this year instead of with snowflakes and whatever else they’d had on them in the past, I think they are totally missing the point of the holiday. Same for the brouhaha that was unfolding in certain Simon malls this weekend. The malls were installing a glacier theme and someone took that to mean they were foregoing a Christmas tree. This person went online and started a campaign to boycott Simon malls because they were discriminating against Christians.

Seriously? It’s a SHOPPING MALL!! All that mall wants is for you to do is come in and spend $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Lots and lots of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

I know that the cat is out of the bag and the chance of having Christmas celebrated as it was when I was younger — after Thanksgiving — is not going to happen, but let’s be calm and clear about this. If you’re equating Christmas with a red cup, you have totally missed the point.

Leave a Reply

