No Internet or Phone? Can’t Connect?We Don’t Care!!

I was away last week and for large swaths of time had no internet access. I also had even more time without any phone connectivity.

I learned a lot about this inability to connect quickly.

People don’t pay attention to what you tell them. “I have no internet or phone where I am” fell on deaf ears. When I was in range, I’d have 20 texts and emails and voice mails asking me why I wasn’t responding. “I’m away” has no bearing on others wanting your attention. How dare I not be available right NOW!

It has also taught me that I can be away from social media but it’s going to take a lot of willpower. Why you ask? Well, here it is. It has finally occurred to me what Facebook or Instagram is like. It is like one of these:

  1.  A bad car accident that you just have to look at even though you know it’ll upset you (or fill you with envy).
  2. A place to get information on friends because nobody calls (or emails) to let you know  anything anymore. Without FB, you often don’t know what is going on with anyone or anywhere — how many events will I miss if I don’t see anything on FB? Good question. Friend going out of town? Read about it on FB or Instagram .
  3. Friends like to drink. Apparently a lot.
  4. That Christmas letter you used to get once a year? Yeah, now it’s every day. Just as annoying but you get to be annoyed by how perfect their lives seem to be every – single – day.

I have tried to cut down on FB (I don’t use Instagram much). I have almost totally stopped posting anything very personal. I’m not posting pictures of my food (unless I’m doing a restaurant review), selfies, pictures of where I am, and other pictures that say “hey! look at me!!

I mostly enjoy those pictures and posts that are of flowers, sunsets, puppies, kitties, other cute critters, books and music.

Considering that all I seem to post lately are political posts and about reading, or puppies, kitties and other cute critters, I don’t really know why I even bother.

Hmmm. That’s a thought.

5 thoughts on “No Internet or Phone? Can’t Connect?We Don’t Care!!

  1. I’m pretty sure you would not miss FB. I like Instagram. Someone can follow you, but you don’t have to follow them..and by that you can avoid all of the drama and other crap you might see on FB.

  2. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things
    or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

