My health update a long time coming

I haven’t shared any of my health update in quite a while and thought I would fill everyone in.

I haven’t done much in the way of exercise lately. Unfortunately, somewhere along the way I’ve torn my rotator cuff and instead of exercise I’ve been going to PT. I have surgery in a few weeks. PT was not getting the results that were necessary and a MRI showed that I have something like a bone deformity that is irritating the rotator cuff and keeping it from healing. I won’t bore you with the anatomical details of what this is. I just hope that after the surgery and the requisite recovery, I will at least be able to do a few down dogs without pain. In fact my goal is to dial my exercise back to Tai Chi, Qigong, yoga, and just some general exercise. I am taking all the serious CrossFit stuff off the table. It was fun but a partially torn Achilles, bummed knee, and rotator cuff is enough for me. YMMV.

I am still at least 60 pounds lighter than I was 2 years ago. My diet has stayed fairly stable and therefore so have I. For anyone that tells you that you can exercise your way to good health without moderating your diet, they are lying to you. As my life has shown lately, I have maintained weight through healthy eating. Being able to exercise  would be better for my overall health but the weight is off because of the healthy eating not the exercise.

Does this mean not drinking multiple glasses of wine every day? Yeah that’s exactly what that means. This is never really been an issue for me as I’m not a big drinker but I’m always amazed at people that complain relentlessly about how they can’t lose any weight but every picture you see of  them on Instagram and Facebook include copious amounts of alcohol. Some unsolicited advice? Drink less. Eat more food.

The true test, at least according to the doctor, is blood work. So what did the most recent test show? Triglycerides are in the normal range for the first time in years. Blood sugar normal. Good cholesterol in the normal range for  the first time in years. Bad cholesterol okay too. Thyroid in the normal range again. While not blood work, my blood pressure has been unbelievably right on target now for quite a while. As I said already, my weight has been stable at 60 pounds lighter then it was two years ago.

The one complaint my doctor had  was that my overall cholesterol is slightly elevated. If she had asked me, my response would be that it is only slightly elevated above where it was two years ago when I was taking statins. So no statins and only slightly elevated with better triglycerides and HDL and LDL levels. Plus I don’t have  the muscle ache that I had for years and didn’t realize it was because of the statin drugs I was taking .  Or that the statins actually made it harder to take off weight . Or that they caused elevated sugar.

Seriously, she told me to be better with diet and exercise and it took everything I could do not to laugh my head off.

Doctor, just leave me alone. I’m doing fine.

I hope you enjoy your holiday season and drink moderately and eat that piece of pie with the whipped cream. My diet won’t let me eat pie (I will get ill) but I love chocolate and I found a few brands that I can eat and I enjoy them immensely. Without guilt. And I don’t go running off to the gym the next day to work off the calories. I now exercise because I enjoy what I do.

Eating that chocolate is not doing something bad. Having a glass of wine is not doing something bad. Eating that fried potato latke is not doing something bad. It is enjoying life.

Leave a Reply

