Dying of a broken heart

After the successive deaths of Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds, there have been a number of articles popping up on social media talking about studies that indicate you can indeed, die of a broken heart.

To which my question is, seriously, we needed a study, or series of studies, to tell us this?

 As someone who has been heart broken twice in the last 6 months (once due to the death of a loved one and once for other reasons), as well as having had my heart broken many times due to losses over the years, I can personally attest that there are times when your heart actually does hurt. Physically it hurts.

I don’t need a damned study to tell me that a broken heart is real. I am more than sure that under the right circumstances a person could indeed die from his or her grief. The physical pain of heartache is real.

I will give you this however, it’s nice to be validated.

Leave a Reply

