My Sweet Boy 

If you’ve known me for any length of time, you know that I have a cat named Sweetpea. People call him SP. I call him baby boy and Buddy, among other terms of endearment.

SP is my entire world. Over the years I have offended people by saying that I love him more than I love anything or anybody in this world. There are people I love more than life itself and I would take a bullet for them. So to say that I love him even more tells you the depth of my feelings for this little four-legged creature that came into my life in March of 2004.

I had just moved into a new house and was negotiating my divorce. It was a very difficult time. I went into the SPCA and there were all these cowering cats and kittens. All except for him. He came right up to the bars of his cage and started pawing for me to come over. I asked to hold him and he immediately got on his back like a baby and put his paw on my nose. I said “yes, you are coming home with me”.

It was love at first sight for both of us. He has been my boon companion ever since.

When I got him he had ringworm and was quite a scrawny mess. He bloomed into quite a handsome young man. He was estimated to be a year and a half old at the time although he acted like a kitten most of the time.

He’s always been a chill and self-assured young man. He’s always been loving, even to strangers who come to the house  — because there are no strangers. Everyone is here to see him and he loves to hold court.

I realized he wasn’t feeling well for a while but the vet said that it probably was just his age and they were treating some belly issues. Otherwise, he was doing pretty well. My discussion with the emergency vet indicates that the regular vet was doing everything that should be done.

But Thursday and Friday he was lethargic and vomiting and crying and whimpering so Saturday I brought him to the emergency clinic.  As I start writing this, he is still there on fluids and pain meds. Reports indicate that he is eating again and bright and alert.  I am grateful he is feeling better. I hate that he is there and I am here, meaning not with him. My poor baby boy.

I am waiting for results of the biopsy of his intestines he will have tomorrow and I am very scared. They’ve mentioned the word lymphoma and my heart just aches.

Additionally his tail appears to be damaged and they’re talking about amputation.

I don’t know that I’ve ever been so scared in my life. Unless a cat is ill they tend to live a long time. I really was thinking of another 6 good years with him. The thought of him not being here just fills me with dread.

I am not posting this until after I have more information from his doctors. The Winchester Emergency Veterinary Clinic has been amazing. Honestly I wish they could be my cat’s regular vet. Their professionalism and caring has been exemplary.

So my sweet, sweet boy has cancer. Probably a lot of cancer. They never did the biopsies. The consulting doctors who reviewed his tests and films have determined that he has a spot on his lung and it has metastasized to his tail. He also has a mass near his pancreas and kidney and they don’t think they should biopsy it knowing that he already has carcinoma that has metastasized.

I’m going to pick him up in a little while and bring him home. I’ll be making an appointment with the oncologist to talk about what can be done to give him a good quality of life for what time he has left.

I am so heartbroken. But I will give him the best damned rest of his life that I can.

In the meantime, here’s a picture of my brave little man. He’s so damned cute.

20170109_101524.jpg

7 thoughts on “My Sweet Boy 

  1. I’m so, so sorry to hear this. I’ve been through it with my dogs, and it is the most devastating thing to go through – especially top of the other losses you’ve already had, and right after the holidays. My prayer is that he has many more high quality days to spend with you, that there will be ways to minimize his pain and increase his enjoyment of life, and that he spends the rest of his days knowing he is the most special, most loved SP in all the world.

Leave a Reply

