Just Showing Up

In Brene Brown’s groundbreaking Daring Greatly, she writes “Sometimes the bravest and most important thing you can do is just show up.”

As I’ve written recently, bad shit just keeps coming – Dad cancer and dying, cat cancer, torn shoulder and surgery, losing someone I love. To say that the last 6 months have been less than ideal would be a gross understatement. 

I’ve written that I don’t feel brave and that my friends, Jenn and Marilyn, have begged to differ. I’ve perhaps argued with them over that point.

But in my effort to finally finish Brown’s book I came upon her quote and it stuck to me. 

Over the last 6 months I continued to run my business.  My business thrived. I continued to show up at networking events. Despite having to say some really painful things to one of my best friends in the world (and maybe my great love), a few hours later, I showered, got dressed,  put on my makeup and a smile, and went to support a friend’s band (and enjoyed myself).

If that’s bravery, then yes Jenn and Marilyn, I’m brave. I am certainly a plugger. 

I’m doing my best to just show up. 

Leave a Reply

