Books, or What to Read When You Have Too Many Choices

book-112117_1280I have soooo many books to possibly read, I am often beset with indecisiveness. Books on Kindle. Books on my shelves. I even have a few audio books. Some women buy shoes. I buy books. Lots and lots of books. I doubt I could read all of them if I read one a day for the rest of my life and still, I buy more.

So I’m asking, what do you recommend? If it’s a book I already own, I will put it on the “to be read” (TBR) pile. Otherwise, it will be added to my list of future possibilities.

Currently, I am finishing Lean In which I started eons ago but never finished. I’m also reading When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron, which I am reading again because my dear friend (previously mentioned wise woman Jenn) highly recommended it for me at this time in my life so I pulled it off the shelf and I read 10 pages a day.

I’m looking for fiction, hopefully something that I can escape into. I’m trying to read Bone Gap, which is YA fiction. But I’m up for other ideas after this one.

I’ve thought about delving into Richard Wright or Ralph Ellison for Black History Month.

Your thoughts welcome. If you comment, please tell me why you recommend the book. Thanks in advance.

5 thoughts on “Books, or What to Read When You Have Too Many Choices

  1. You’ve probably seen me recommend this a thousand times on FB, but A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. Best book I read all of last year, and everyone (with one exception) that I’ve recommended it to has absolutely fallen in love with it.

    • Oh, the why. It really emphasizes how you shouldn’t judge someone based on first impressions or a crusty outer demeanor. That everyone goes through their own stuff, and you don’t know why someone is the way they are if you don’t know their story – and maybe they aren’t the way they seem to be. The book made me fall in love with the characters, and I related to it so very much.

      • You might like My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry more. The people who weren’t wowed by Ove liked it better. I WAS wowed by Ove and I liked it better too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

