If I am Silent

I saw this meme on Facebook today and I liked it.

silent-thunder

Then I thought about it.

I can be quiet (really, don’t laugh!). It could be for no other reason than I need to be alone with myself. I deal with people all day long and sometimes, a little quiet is a treat, you know? I actually like time alone.

Sometimes, I’m quiet because I’m thinking something through. You may think that what pops out of my mouth is out of the blue, but most times, I’ve been mulling it over for quite a while. So what you think is some wild, crazy idea, is something I’ve been planning for perhaps months. That took a lot of silence.

Sometimes, I really don’t want to talk to you. I could be angry. Most likely I am responding to your lack of contact. The more you don’t contact me, the more I’m likely to stop contacting you. I may try for a bit and when there’s little or no positive result, I just walk away. No fuss. No fight. Just disappear. I’m kind of surprised when someone who doesn’t contact me for a long time and then does is miffed that I’m noncommittal. I know. I know. We all have busy lives, but if I have made a life despite your absence, you calling is not necessarily going to make me shout with glee “Oh! Welcome back!”. Maybe I’ve been doing just fine.

In most cases, the odds are in your favor that I’m just chillin’ and I want to talk to you. But maybe you woke me. Or I’ve been reading. Either of those may get a little silence from me initially because my mind is far away. Give me a chance to wake up and find my voice.

Talk to you soon.

 

Leave a Reply

