Love of a pet

I’ve shared my cat a number of times on this blog. I’ve  shared pictures. I’ve shared the medical issues that are now going on.

Yes they are still going on as SP is hanging in there.

As I sit here he is curled up next to me, sleeping soundly. His breathing is easy and measured. He is sleeping like he has not a care in the world. It is good to see.

But just like my dad, he has good days and bad days with cancer. Some days, he doesn’t eat very much and other days, he wakes me up at 4 in the morning, taps me on the face and “says”  “hey Mom! I’m hungry.” And unlike the old days where I would ignore him and pull the blanket over my head,  I get my tired butt out of bed and feed him.

Because what else am I going to do? If he’s hungry I’m going to feed him. I did the same thing with my dad whom I fed whatever the hell he wanted whenever the hell he wanted it because if he ate anything at all that was a good thing.

And isn’t that what love is really about. 

Leave a Reply

