Are We Numb?

Yesterday a photo began circulating on my Facebook feed of two people walking down the pedestrian mall in my small town. One was draped in the Confederate Flag and the other was draped in the Nazi flag.  It was confirmed that it actually happened by people that saw them.

I decided to post the picture and my comment was “I thought “this has to be a bad joke” and then I saw someone else post a different picture of them as well. I can’t believe this is my town.” Other friends also posted and had some rather “lively” discussion about it on their posts. My post had a few “likes” and a few comments.

This leads me to wonder if people care or if they have just become comfortably numb.

As a lawyer, I get that they have freedom of speech rights that cannot be denied.

Nonetheless, I am deeply disturbed by the fact that this happened in my town, in broad daylight, over the Memorial Day weekend. If you take into account the meaning of Memorial Day, that they chose to do this despicable thing on this particular weekend, is deeply upsetting.

As a Jew I am upset. As an American I am upset. As a resident of this town, I am upset that so few people seem to care or be disturbed by this turn of events.

2 thoughts on “Are We Numb?

  1. my question is….were they kids? you know, under 25? I can remember my brother and his friends were all “anarchists” mostly because it was cool and got a rise out of people. I wonder of the type of folks in the photo are truely into the nazi/confederate philosophies? or are they just trying to be cool and “different”?

Leave a Reply

